Citadel pitcher Zach Sherrill hits home run with on-field proposal

Citadel pitcher Zach Sherrill proposes to girlfriend Anna Kate Shuler before Saturday’s game at Riley Park. (Photo provided)

Citadel pitcher Zach Sherrill proposes to girlfriend Anna Kate Shuler before Saturday’s game at Riley Park. (Photo provided)

By: Jeff Hartsell postandcourier.com
Apr 7 2015

The Citadel baseball team lost, 17-0, to Mercer on Saturday at Riley Park. But at least one Bulldogs player had something to celebrate that night. Senior pitcher Zach Sherrill did not strike out when he proposed to his girlfriend, Anna Kate Shuler, on the field before the game.

“I’ve always thought about doing that when I proposed, because I’m so into baseball,” said Sherrill, who has known Anna Kate since they went to high school together in Sumter. “I thought that’d be a neat way to do it.”

Sherill had his parents bring the ring from Sumter and felt pretty good about his game plan until Anna Kate hit the field. “I wasn’t too nervous until she got out there,” he said. “Then I got a few butterflies.”

But Sherrill’s scouting report proved accurate. She said yes.

“We had talked about it before,” Sherrill said. The fans on hand cheered, but Sherrill’s teammates knew he’d telegraphed the pitch. “They were eating it up,” he said. “They say I’ve been married since I got here.” Zach and Anna Kate, who attends College of Charleston, will get married in the summer of 2016.

